Author Archive

AAEC cancels in-person convention in 2021, looks to virtual | Post

May 14, 2021- The Association of American Editorial Cartoonists has joined other cartoon festivals in dropping their plans for an in-person convention in 2021. The AAEC had been in talks with the Association of Canadian Cartoonists to meet in Ottawa later this year. “We had hoped for a redo of our canceled 2020 confab...

de Adder wins Canada’s National Newspaper Award | Post

May 13, 2021- A big congrats to Michael de Adder, this year’s National Newspaper Award winner for editorial cartooning. In the wake of his Trump cartoons, de Adder has been racking up the accolades (and job offers) lately. Congrats too to Graeme MacKay, who was nominated for the Canadian journalism award.

Kal the winner of the 2020 OPC Award | Post

April 7, 2021- Congratulations to cartoonist Kevin “Kal” Kallaugher, the 2020 winner of the Award-formerly-known-as-the-Thomas-Nast from the Overseas Press Club of America. This is Kal’s fifth time to win the OPCA prize. Michael Ramirez was cited as the runner-up. America’s oldest association dedicated to international news will honor the journalists at an Oct....

Some paper writes about the travails of cartoonists on Facebook | Post

March 19, 2021- Some newspaper wrote about Facebook‘s failure to understand irony, and how that is threatening the livelihood of editorial cartoonists. While the most of the article is about Matt Bors and The Nib, cartoonists Adam Zyglis, Ed Hall are interviewed as well. Here’s the article: For Political Cartoonists, the Irony Was That Facebook Didn’t Recognize Irony As Facebook...

Website Design by AxisCreativeTeam